Skip to Content

William Penn University Celebrates 100th Anniversary of Historic Penn Hall


On September 24, one of the oldest buildings on William Penn University’s Oskaloosa campus turned 100 years old — Penn Hall. William Penn University celebrated the milestone during Homecoming 2017, held September 28 – 30, with a program commemorating Penn Hall, a poem recitation from alum Hailey Brown (’13), followed by a ribbon cutting ceremony for the new George Daily Pavilion area and a dedication of the new “P” pavers purchased by friends and alumni. After the ceremony, the fun continued with the William Penn University “Amazing Race Campus Tour,” where alumni and friends raced across campus to have their Penn Hall “passports” stamped in hopes of earning a prize, and were able to have their photo taken in front of the historic Penn Hall.


Who We Are

By Hailey Brown (’13)


Up from the ashes of Old Main she did rise –

not just as a structure, but something alive.

Our beloved Penn Hall, built in a mere year –

The future of campus, a source of great cheer.

The heart of campus in 1917, revived –

Upward and onward throughout the years, she has strived.

And 100 years later, today, she still reigns –

A hallmark, an icon, we have proudly attained.


Up from the ashes, a phoenix – A mother –

Ready to nurture the nature of thousands of brothers

and sisters, like our first grad in 1875

and eager students since, all looking to thrive.

One foot placed down in front of the other –

Ascending her stairs, and seeking her cover.

Built upon the foundations of Quaker principles and Christianity –

Penn Hall is the way to a higher realm of humanity.


100 years later, she’s dynamic and diverse –

Although that’s not to say no times have been terse.

Yet still she remains, historic and true –

Penn Hall whispers, “be humble, be you,

Be meek, be patient, be grateful and more…”

All those are taught, who come through the door.

 About Penn Hall

After the original building, formerly known as Old Main, was destroyed by a fire in 1916, the University united to rebuild Penn Hall. After a year of construction from 1916 – 1917, Penn Hall reopened its doors, which thousands of students have walked through since. Penn Hall was built with architecture influence by A.T. Simmons and the Prairie School of Architecture. The building’s unique style, along with the Lewis Hall dormitory located on campus, has been recognized by the Public Historian of the State Historical Society of Iowa.

Penn Hall is as unique on the inside as it is on the outside. The structure and functionality of the building has changed over the years. Currently, Penn Hall holds classrooms on all four stories and administrative offices on the second floor. To learn more about William Penn University and Penn Hall, visit


For more information, contact:

Hailey Brown
Communications/Event Coordinator
(641) 673-1078 |


< Back to all News