Skip to Content

Academic Honors Banquet Recognizes Top Students at William Penn University


 William Penn University honored student scholars and leaders for their outstanding academic achievements and accomplishments at the 2017 Academic Honors Banquet, held April 22 on the William Penn University campus. The university-wide event is presented each year to acknowledge superior performance by students, and includes recognition of honor society inductees, campus leaders, students selected for this year’s Who’s Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities, and other top scholars.

In addition to student awards, the William Penn University Academic Honors Banquet featured a dessert buffet catered by Sodexo at William Penn, music from the WPU Jazz Combo, words from Dr. Noel Stahle, Vice President for Academic Affairs, an invocation from Pastor James Tower, and a closing from William Penn University President John Ottosson.


Below is a list of the 2017 Academic Honors Program recipients (* indicates double major):

Alpha Chi (Iowa Beta Chapter) National College Honor Scholarship Society

Taylor Carter

Hannah Dustin

Savanna Hartman

Andre Hernandez

Caylah Morrow

Olivier Mwiseneza

Megan Rhoads

Charles Sellers

Claire Simmons

Aude Ikuzwe-Sindikubwabo

Lucas Smith

Shayla Townsend

Alpha Lambda Delta National College Freshman Honor Society

Alexis Lorraine Guimaraes

Deanna Peiffer

Nicole Craft

Delaney Mae Bice

Katie Jo Rupe

Elizabeth Shaffer (Leadership Award)

Phi Alpha Theta Rho Omicron Chapter National History Honor Society

Michael Halbert

Blake Van Houweling

Jason Walston

Greek Life Award

Lambda Delta Nu, Caylah Morrow (President)

Who’s Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities

Michael Applegate

Callie Arnold

Pacis Bana

Hayli Beeson

Jenna Carrico

Arianna Davis

Tristan Dugan

Cooper Gosch

Santiago Goytia-Zamora

Rachel Groet

Benjamin Hilmer

Aude Ikuzwe-Sindikubwabo

Ariane Imulinde Sugi

Didier Ishimwe

Providence Ishimwe

Zachary Johnson

Kera Kalco

Kala Keller

Molly LaMotte

Francis Lee

Titus Letzring

Bethany Lobberecht

Logan Loftus

Cassandra Long

Noelle Luebbers

Kalynn Martinez

Jaden Miskowiec

Madison Mitchell

Caylah Morrow

Clarisse Mucyo

Bill Jean Claudien Mutabazi

Olivier Mwiseneza

Amanda Nantz

Richard Putnam

Derek Robinson

Alexi Rule

Steven Sattz

Joslyn Schaffner

Alex Schwing

Paige Smith

Jasmin Sonnenschein

Lydia Thury

Yves Tuyishime

Francoise Umubyeyi

Nate Van Veldhuizen

Brad VanDerPol

Student Government Association for 2017-2018

Amanda Nantz (President)

Taylor Carter (Vice President)

Noelle Luebbers (Treasurer)

Laura Cartwright (Administrative Officer)

Arimina Flores (Events Coordinator)

President’s Student Leadership Award

Pacis Bana

President’s Student Leadership Award Nominees

Pacis Bana

Markenson Charles

Steven Sattz

President’s Student Participation Award

Zachary Johnson

Campus Ministry Leadership

Markenson Charles

Computer Club Abacus Award

Pacis Bana

Computer Club Student Technology Assistant of the Year

Courtney Cunningham

Bill Jean Claudien Mutabazi

Education Club Award

Alex Schwig, President

Education Club Educational Leadership

Kalynn Martinez

Meaghan Foster

Madison Mitchell

Amber St. John

Fine Arts Actor of the Year

Vhon Steele

Fine Arts Actress of the Year

Lorena Reyes

Fine Arts Ray Blue Jazz Award

Joe Criscuolo

Outstanding Achievement in the Fine Arts Program

Caylah Morrow

Fine Arts Outstanding Senior Visual Arts Student

Caylah Morrow

Outstanding Achievement in Visual Arts

Ethan Rospond

Excellence in Technical Theatre

Dillan Mankowski

Nursing Excellence in Leadership

Daniel Vande Voort

Marvin Van Der Wiel

Summer West

Tutor of the Year

Pacis Bana


Academic Achievement Awards

Recognizing graduating seniors with the highest GPA in their major of 3.5 or higher

Applied Technology

Computer Science

John VandeNoord

Industrial Technology—Technical

Markie Roake

Industrial Technology—Industrial Management

Santiago Goytia-Zamora

Information Technology    

Bill Jean Claudien Mutabazi

Software Engineering

Pacis Bana*



Elementary Education

Jennifer Romas


Health and Life Sciences

Biology–General Studies

Kaitlin Uber

Biology—Pre-Professional Studies

Clarisse Mucyo

Biology—Bachelor of Science

Ariane Imulinde Sugi

Exercise Science

Molly LaMotte

Kinesiology—Wellness & Recreation

Shane Swearingen

Natural Science—General (TE)

Michael Applegate*

Natural Science—Biology/Physical Science (TE)

Kalynn Martinez

Physical Education—K–12 (TE)

Steven Sattz

Sport & Recreation Management

Jacob De Hamer



Communications—Fine Arts

Bethany Lobberecht

Digital Communication—Television

Titus Letzring


Kala Keller


Summer West


Social and Behavioral Sciences

General Psychology

Arianna Davis

Chelsea Griffiths*

Jaden Miskowiec*

Human Services  

Charles Sellers


Brittney Odum


For more information, contact:

Hailey Brown

Communications/Event Coordinator

William Penn University

(641) 673-1078 |

< Back to all News