Skip to Content

Academic Honors Banquet Recognizes Top Students at William Penn University


William Penn University honored student scholars and leaders for their outstanding academic achievements and accomplishments at the 2018 Academic Honors Banquet, held Saturday, April 14 on the William Penn University Oskaloosa campus. The university-wide event is presented each year to acknowledge superior performance by students, and includes recognition of honor society inductees, campus leaders, students selected for this year’s Teacher Education Program Acceptance Award, and other top scholars.


In addition to student awards, the William Penn University Academic Honors Banquet featured a dessert buffet catered by Sodexo at William Penn, music from the WPU Jazz Combo, words from Dr. Noel Stahle, Vice President for Academic Affairs, an invocation from Pastor James Tower, and a closing from William Penn University President John Ottosson.


Below is a list of the 2018 Academic Honors Program recipients (* indicates double major, ** indicates triple major):


Alpha Chi (Iowa Beta Chapter) National College Honor Scholarship Society

Hannah Baker

Marcella Burkheimer

Morgan Collum

Shelly Courtney

Robyn Cromwell

Jennifer Emig

Alexandria Gerken

Dustin Harbour

Kristen Howe

Providence Ishimwe

Kristin Johnk

Jennifer Keller-VanDevender

Kaitlyn Lamphier

Helene Larson

McKinlee Maletta

Rita Mertens

Autumn Mitchell

Angela Nava

Michelle Nystel

Sara Puffer

Amanda Rostami

Michelle Rozenbeck

Zachary Schlichtmann

Tanya Sellers

Elizabeth Shaffer

Ruth Sutherland

Christina Sweeney

Kelly Walker

Andrea Winters

Delores Wykert

Spring 2018

Alexandra Benedict

Dalaney Bice

Bryce Brown

Seth Davis

Brendon Guler

Rebekka Hartwig

Stacey Hirchak

Carrie Kral

Lea Kunkel

Kaylee Lange

Kiera MacPherson

Jami Nickerson

Deanna Peiffer

Isabella Potter

Jane Roberts

Jenna Santi

Sierra Simmons

Blake Van Houweling

David Williams


Alpha Lambda Delta National College Freshman Honor Society

Taniah Ayap

Nadhelo Charles-Pierre

Joseph Diaz

Danae Dorothy

Abigail Fangman

Oscar Florez-Martinez

Ashley Gruwell

Abby Higgins

Alexis Jensen

Madison Lantz

Jace Neugebauer

Guillermo Pineda

Abbigail Straube

Allie Utterback

Kyleigh Wagner


Alpha Lambda Delta Leadership Award

Elizabeth Shaffer, President


Phi Alpha Theta Rho Omicron Chapter National History Honor Society

Yan Aung

Alexandria Herbert

David Williams

Greek Life Award

Delta Beta Phi – Austinn Goin, President


Teacher Education Program Acceptance Award

Brooke Alff

Kim Anderson

Kaylee Ashburn-Morgan

Maranda Baker

Alyson Baldwin

Amanda Beauchamp

Deanya Birdsell

Bryce Brown

Jason Bunnell

Lisa Canny

Jordan Carter

Lacey Cason

Bridgette Edwards

Jeremy Ely

Brianna Embree

Taylor Gillaspie

Melissa Hall

Dustin Harbour

Kinsley Heckart

Kali Hills

Stacey Hirchak

Kareena Keyes

Carrie Kral

Lea Kunkel

Kaylee Lange

Josie Lynch

Tiffany McCain

Brittany Meyers

Brandy Millikin

Sam Mosiman

Elissa Negrete

Mary Oldham

Kiendra Phanfil

Alaina Ray

Lacie Rench

Steve Residor

Amanda Ross

Becky Seaton

Sierra Simmons

Elayna VanArsdale

President’s Student Leadership Award

Callie Arnold

President’s Student Leadership Award Nominees

Callie Arnold

Jeremy French

McKinlee Maletta

Jasmin Sonnenschein

President’s Student Participation Award

Jenna Santi

President’s Student Participation Award Nominees

Taylor Carter

Bailey Rimes

Jenna Santi

Student Government Association 2018-2019

President- Jace Neugebauer

Vice President- Laura  Cartwright

Treasurer- Jack Kindell-Brown

Administrative Officer- Alex Crehan

Events Coordinator- will be appointed

Student Life Director- Jenna Santi

Public Relations Director- Madison Lantz

Campus Ministry Leadership

Nona Carter

Lorena Reyes

Shaina Spears

Computer Club Abacus Award

Francoise Umubyeyi

Computer Club Student Technology Assistant of the Year

Amon Mugiraneza

Education Club Award

McKinlee Maletta

Keegan VanDevender

Education Club Educational Leadership

Jessica Bjornson

Ashlyn Hubbard

Tina Sweeney

Fine Arts Actor of the Year

Vhon Steele

Fine Arts Actress of the Year

Mya Washington

Excellence in Technical Theatre

Cassidy Leer

Nursing Excellence in Leadership

Roxanne Popelka

Charles Sauer

Online & Evening Program

Recognizing graduating seniors with the highest GPA in their major of 3.5 or higher



David Klinger

Business Management                                                                                                      

William Rutledge

Human Resources Management                                                                                     

Sara Baranick                                                                                                                                       

Marcella Burkheimer


Social and Behavioral Sciences


Amanda Rostami


CWA Leadership Studies

Scott Fergus


Academic Achievement Awards

Recognizing graduating seniors with the highest GPA in their major of 3.5 or higher


Applied Technology

Computer Science

Francoise Umubyeyi*

Mechanical Engineering

Zach S. Smith




Kristin Johnk*

Business Management                                                                                                      

Olivier Mwiseneza



Elementary Education

Kimberly Brisby

Joslyn Schaffner

Bailey Wulf

Secondary Education—Biology/Earth Science                                                               

Robert Busch

Secondary Education—Mathematics                                                                              

Alex Schwing

Secondary Education—Physical Education (K–12)                                        

Logan Loftus*


Health and Life Sciences

Biology–General Studies

Hayli Beeson

Biology—Pre-Professional Studies

Aude Ikuzwe-Sindikubwabo*

Biology—Bachelor of Science

Dakota James Herman

Exercise Science

Nona Carter

Kinesiology—Wellness & Recreation

Kaitlyn Pearson

Sport & Recreation Management

Lucas Smith



Communications—Digital Communications-Public Relations    

Alyssa Kerry**

Communications—Digital Communication-Journalism                               

Jasmin Sonnenschein


Amanda Nantz**


Colleen Sincox


Social and Behavioral Sciences

General Psychology

Claire Simmons*

Human Services  

Kelly Walker*

Political Science                                                                                                                   

Frederik Lundsgaard*

< Back to all News