Skip to Content

Academic Honors Banquet Recognizes Top Students at William Penn University


(OSKALOOSA, Iowa) – William Penn University honored student scholars and leaders for their outstanding academic achievements and accomplishments at the 2019 Academic Honors Banquet, held Saturday, April 6 on the William Penn University Oskaloosa campus. The university-wide event is presented each year to acknowledge superior performance by students, and includes recognition of honor society inductees, campus leaders, and other top scholars.

In addition to student awards, the William Penn University Academic Honors Banquet featured a dessert buffet catered by Sodexo at William Penn, music from the WPU Jazz Combo, words from Dr. Noel Stahle, Vice President for Academic Affairs, an invocation from Pastor James Tower, and a closing from William Penn University President John Ottosson.

Below is a list of the 2019 Academic Honors Program recipients (* indicates double major, ** indicates triple major):


Alpha Chi (Iowa Beta Chapter) National College Honor Scholarship Society

Nicole Craft

Danae Dorothy

Brittany Gander

Alexis Guimaraes

Justin Hagans

Nesreen Iskandrani

Alexis Jensen

Denise Nichols

Kate Ylitalo


Alpha Lambda Delta National College Freshman Honor Society

Katherine Hunter

Andrea Jaquez

Shayleigh Brinegar

Kody Wilson

Nikole Opeodu

Jabari Omowale

Kobi Evans

Sydney Katko

Jace Lukafahr

Hallie Hebi

Cassandra Bade

Kathryn Gutch

Jenna Walter

Kenzi Gullion

Nicole Lancaster

Andrea Kruckenberg

Isaac Knudsen

Kaung Htet Thar

Kathleen Niles

Michelle Hammar

Makenzie Pezley


Phi Alpha Theta Rho Omicron Chapter National History Honor Society

Ian Forbes

Nesreen Iskandrani

Tyler Johns

Aaron Kitzmann

Seth Reisbeck

Casey Tamanaha

Greek Life Award

Sofie Lund (Fall)


President’s Student Leadership Award

Bailey Rimes

President’s Student Leadership Award Nominees

Kaitlyn Lamphier

Ashley Miller

Elizabeth Overturf

Bailey Rimes


President’s Student Participation Award

Jace Neugebauer


Student Government Association 2019-2020

President–Jace Neugebauer

Vice President–Madison Lantz*

Treasurer–Anthony Bodily

Public Relations Director–Aric Crehan

Events Coordinator–Kathy Niles

Student Life Director–Elena Lucero

Senators–Kody Wilson, Ashley Gruwell, and Halli Heble


Campus Ministry Leadership

Museveni Moise


Computer Club Abacus Award

Connor Witzenburg


Computer Club Student Technology Assistant of the Year

Colton Surfus

Encoh Okyere


Education Club Officer Award

Kaylee Lange


Education Club Educational Leadership

Elizabeth Overturf


Excellence in Technical Theatre

Kirk Miller


Excellence in Music

Joe Criscuolo


Outstanding Achievement in the Choral Music

Mallari Winegar


Best Performer in a Musical

Owen Grubb


Best Performer in a Play

Kiara Davis


John F. Lacey Award

Kaitlyn Lamphier


Greg Hafner Sport Leadership Award

Alexis Weatherspoon


American Kinesiology Association Undergraduate Scholar Award

Elise Warne


Nursing Excellence in Leadership

Kasha Kite

Carla Doane


Nursing Pinning

Carla Doane

Harmony Edge

Melissa Levine

Emily Spielbauer

Danielle Staiert

Online & Evening Program

Recognizing graduating seniors with the highest GPA in their major of 3.5 or higher


Business Management                                                                                                      

Claudia Hollatz

Julie Sandeen

Joel North

Human Resources Management                                                                                     

Bonnie Delp*


Social and Behavioral Sciences


Cristo Hernandez


Academic Achievement Awards

Recognizing graduating seniors with the highest GPA in their major of 3.5 or higher


Applied Technology

Computer Science

Karin Karki*

Industrial Technology – Technical Emphasis

Isaac Sanders

Mechanical Engineering

Zachary Johnson




Deanna Peiffer*

Business Management                                                                                                      

Helene Larson



Elementary Education

Lea Kunkel

McKinlee Maletta

Secondary Education—Mathematics                                                                             

Kiera MacPherson

Jason Bunnell

Secondary Education—American History/Government

Apryl Knox

Secondary Education—Physical Education (K–12)                                     

Rachael Groet

Elementary Education – Distance Learning

Jamie Branch

Dustin Harbour

Abbi Groenendyk


Health and Life Sciences

Biology–Bachelor of Science

Alexzandrea Woudenberg


Exercise Science

Jami Nickerson


Sport & Recreation Management

Alexandra Benedict



Michelle Fisch

Taylor Davis

Melissa Schultz


Social and Behavioral Sciences


Rebekka Hartwig**


Sociology – General

Jane Roberts*


Human Services  

Denise Nichols



Yan Aung


Political Science                                                                                                                  

Blake Van Houweling**




 Group photo of the Alpha Lambda Delta National College Freshman Honor Society inductees for 2018-2019.


For more information, contact:

Miranda Keeler
Marketing & Communication Manager
641-6731078 |

< Back to all News